Two Years and Counting


Update on dr. appt.
November 5, 2009, 1:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Update after my appt yesterday: Due to the antibody I have and the heparin I’m on because of that antibody, as well as the tiny possibility the baby is growth restricted (even though she said her gut says that’s not the case), Dr G wants to induce labor before 40 weeks. I’m still only at 1 cm and about 60% effaced. She suggested inducing on Monday morning, but coming in on Sunday and having a cervical catheter put in to increase dilation to prepare for induction. I said since we’re planning and scheduling this thing, would it be possible to do it a bit later in the week so my husband wouldn’t have to take the entire week off work, and to make it easier for my out of town parents to be here. So, she said we could do the induction on Wednesday and the catheter Tuesday. That’s the plan as of now, I just have to wait for the scheduling lady to call me back to confirm that time. Also, the girl in scheduling mentioned staying overnight in the hospital after they put the catheter in. Dr G didn’t mention anything about that, and I assumed I’d be able to go home and come back the next morning for the induction. The girl is going to ask Dr G and let me know.

Do any of you know anything about this catheter business? I’ve looked it up on babyc.enter and it sounds like it’s used fairly often in preparation for induction. It also sounds like there’s a possibility it could be quite painful, but apparently they have pain meds you can use if necessary.

I’m excited we have a day, but also nervous! Since I know she’s coming next week, it almost feels like senior year when everything is your “last chance” to do this or that. Our last weekend together just the two of us, our last time to go to church just the two of us, my last few days to be lazy and relax with no responsibility, etc. It’s so hard to believe this baby is coming. I know a lot of people feel this way, maybe especially after a struggle with infertility, but I swear, I think I’m feeling it more than normal! I’m about to have a baby???! What the heck?! Don’t get me wrong, I’m so ready for her to be here and very excited to meet her. And my goodness, my husband is SO excited…but it just seems unbelievable that it’s all happening. And I don’t think the nerves are really going to go away. I’m not at the point where my stomach is in knots or anything–it probably won’t be like that. But I have this sense that this is going to be such a huge experience, probably painful at times (even though I’m planning on an epi.), probably scary at times, but ultimately (hopefully) wonderful…and I have absolutely nothing to compare it to to have any idea of what it’s going to be like. It’ll be a total surprise. I’m just really ready to get this show on the road! I’m ready for NEXT Thursday when it’s all over and she’s here!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hello, I hopped my way here from Andrea’s blog “Entrusted”, and I am so glad I did. I feel your excitement bounding from your words, and I am so pleased to be able to pray for you and for your husband and tiny little miracle girl.

I will definitely be checking back to read the no doubt very exciting update…and I just wanted to let you know there’s a reader in Texas tonight who is uttering a prayer of gratitude and thanks for the gift of hope, promise, and possibility that arrives with a new life. God bless you…all THREE of you… : )

Comment by Liz




Leave a Reply

