Two Years and Counting


20 weeks
June 28, 2009, 5:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s a girl! We had our 20 week appt on Thursday and found out the news. I have to admit, right when she said “it’s a girl!” my first thought was, “Huh?” I didn’t realize it until right then, but I think I was expecting a boy. But I’ve pretty much settled into the idea of a girl. We’ve told many of our friends and my husband’s parents, but we’re not telling my parents until next weekend when we see them in person. It’s SO hard to talk to my mom on the phone and not tell her! I’ve had to lie through my teeth, telling her we’re not finding out until the week after the 4th of July. Telling M’s mom today was really fun, and I can’t wait to tell my mom!

I figured I’d immediately go out and buy something as soon as I found out what we were having, but I haven’t bought anything yet. I’ve found the baby book I want, and I’ve made some decisions as far as infant car seat, stroller, etc, but I feel like the first item of clothing I buy this girl is important–I want to get just the right thing. So when she’s 20, I can say, “This is the first thing I ever bought you!” I already have a bag of girl clothes my friend picked up from a yard sale a friend of hers was having, and this kid already has blankets out the wazoo thanks to my mother in law. I suppose I need to start buying stuff myself.

One thing the tech did notice on the ultrasound, and that the doctor confirmed, is that our baby has some fluid that has collected on her kidneys, meaning it’s not draining as it should. They said a lot of times babies grow out of it as they continue developing. We’re getting another u/s at 28 weeks to see if the fluid is still there. If not, great, and if it is, she’ll refer us to a high risk doctor for another u/s. She said most likely, he’ll say, “Can it be a sign of a chromosomal abnormality? Yes, but there’s still a good chance she’ll grow out of it, and we’re just going to wait and see what happens.” I feel pretty confident with this doctor that if there was a reason for us to worry right now, she’d tell us. Yes, it’s a tad annoying to have to think about it for the next 8 weeks, but I’m doing pretty good not worrying about it. If it turns out to be anything more than reflux (which is what the tech said it can sometimes indicate), we’ll deal with it when the time comes.

Other than that, she said the measurements were all good and normal. She didn’t measure my uterus, like she did last time, and I didn’t think at the time to ask her about it. Sometimes I feel like girls on blogs and in forums come away from their appointments with so much more info than I have…all these numbers and stats and things that my doctor doesn’t mention and that I don’t know to ask. I’m 100% confident in our doctor and the practice she’s in, so I know it’s not that she’s not taking good care of me. It may just be that I’m trying to have the attitude she has, which so far as been positive and laid back, and I’m making a big effort not to freak myself out too much so I’m not reading a ton online about measurements, stats, etc. And I’m ok with that right now.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congrats on the girl! Praying for the kidney issue to vanish!

Comment by Nity

Yeah for your daughter! Very good news. Hope all is well, post soon!

Comment by Wishing4One




Leave a Reply

