Two Years and Counting


11 weeks
April 28, 2009, 7:45 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

We had our first appt with my regular OB on Thursday, and it went really well. I had gotten a bit nervous about the appt, of course, so I was pretty anxious to get there and get the ultrasound. At first, the nurse tried doing it on my belly and couldn’t find anything at all! So she did it vag.inally (I thought I was finished with those!) and found the baby that way. She said my uterus may be tilted back a bit and that’s why it took her a minute to find it (although the nurses at the fert. clinic never had a problem finding it.) Pretty quickly we saw the baby wiggling around, then she located the heartbeat. Then she turned the sound up and we heard it! I wasn’t really expecting that, and it was a beautiful sound. The baby was much bigger than the ultrasound we had two weeks prior. She got some photos (one of which makes the baby look exactly like a little alien), including one 3D image–in this one, it actually looks like a tiny baby! His/her hand is up towards the mouth and you can see the beginnings of the legs, which aren’t fully formed yet.

We had told our families and close friends about the pregnancy already, but were waiting for that first appt with the ob before we told everyone else. So, since it went well, and since I feel like I can relax more now and enjoy it, we’re now telling other people about it, and that’s making it seem more real. That, and the fact that at the appt, they loaded us up with books and pamphlets about pregnancy, which also made it feel more real. I think I’ll start to connect even more when I start to look pregnant. Right now, I have a pooch where I used to not have one, and my bbs are a bit fuller, but other than that, you can’t really tell. Definitely can’t tell when I’m fully clothed. Now, if I wasn’t holding my stomach in, people would be able to tell, but since I’m still just at the pooch stage and not the small belly stage, I’m still holding in a bit! I’m really ready for when it’s obviously baby and I can let it all out–when it doesn’t just look like I’ve been eating big meals lately! I’ve gained 5 pounds, which I guess is fairly normal. I’m at ll weeks, so really just a couple more before I’m finished with the first trimester. When I realized that a few days ago, part of me thought–well, I’ve wasted this first part of my pregnancy being worried and nervous…but the other part reminds me that pregnancy is really long…almost a year! And I have plenty of time to go.

Every day we’re thankful that we’ve been blessed in this way. I have no idea why God chose to have us wait as long as we did, and why he allowed us to get pregnant when we did. I told M the other day that it would have been fine if we’d gotten pregnant when we first started trying two years ago, but there’s something to be said for being two years further into our marriage, two years more stable financially, two years of learning more about ourselves and each other before we bring another person into our world. So I’m thankful for God’s timing, even though the path to get here was very difficult.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Isn’t it amazing how quickly they start to look like “real” babies! Congrats again! =)

Comment by mrslala

I have not commented on your blog before, but read it during my pregnancy after a 2 1/2 year battle with IF.
I am just now catching up on a few blogs (Ethan was born a little over 2 months ago and I do not have as much time on my hands.) Anyways… Many congrats and I pray that God will continue to bless you through the pregnancy and birth of your little miracle.

Comment by Alysa




Leave a Reply

