Two Years and Counting


9 weeks
April 9, 2009, 10:07 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Things are going well here. I had my 9 week appt this morning for an ultrasound and bloodwork. It was actually my last visit to the clinic, and I have mixed feelings about it. I’m excited to be close to being considered “normal” but I’ve gotten very used to the faces I’ve been seeing at the clinic for the last year, especially these last couple of months when I’ve been there a lot. Everyone has told me to prepare myself for very few ultrasounds with the regular obgyn, so I’m savoring what I saw this morning and am looking forward to our 10 week appt with my regular doctor and the ultrasound we’ll get then. But after that, I’m guessing it’ll be at least 4 weeks before we have another one (maybe 8 weeks?) I understand that you just can’t feasibly do an u/s on every pregnant woman, every week, but I wish I could have more regular bloodwork and urinalyses. It seems like checking the blood and urine can catch so much, and waiting 4+ weeks between checks seems like a lot. But what do I know?

I’ve been feeling good for the most part. Actually better than I was feeling 2-3 weeks ago. I’m not as tired as I was before (except for yesterday when I was about to fall asleep on my feet all day, but that was because I went to bed a good bit later the night before than I usually do. Won’t make that mistake again.) I’m eating every two hours, which staves off most not-so-good feelings. But I haven’t had any bad nausea, which I’m thankful for. I know “they” say nausea can indicate a healthy pregnancy, but since we know that’s not completely true, I’d rather not have those feelings, thank you very much!

Baby is measuring about 1 day ahead with a strong heartbeat. Today, I saw it move! It was really wiggling around, and it’s so hard to believe something so small can actually move like that. There was a big difference between what we saw on u/s last week and this week. Now, you can see a bit of a separation between the head and the body, you could see a leg hanging down, and you could see the brain forming in the head. Really unbelievable.

I have to admit, I don’t feel quite connected to this baby. Even now, it’s almost like the nurse is just showing me something on a screen, not something that’s actually in me. I don’t know if it’s because I don’t really feel all that pregnant (other than the hunger, the constant peeing, etc) or if it’s more because M and I aren’t quite yet at a point where we feel we can get really excited about being pregnant. I think we’re both feeling like this is so fragile, we don’t really want to throw ourselves into it yet. I’m praying for a peace that’ll allow us to get as excited as we want to be, as excited as our friends and family are for us. I know we’ll get there, but I guess we’re just still being cautious. Maybe another week or two and we’ll feel like we’ve at least made it out of the woods, so to speak.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have been following your blog but never commented. I am a few weeks ahead of you but I can totally understand the feeling of not being able to connect with the baby. I am almost 14 weeks but I still feel scared to get attacned to this baby. I don’t know when i’ll be able to completely relax.

Comment by Sue

For me it didn’t seem quite real in first tri either. It wasn’t until my belly started growing and I felt movement that it got really exciting.

If you do a quad screening for downs (it goes by a lot of different names) you usually get an u/s between 11.5 – 13 weeks. Otherwise you might not get another until 20 weeks. Crazy compared to the RE.

Comment by Jennifer

Hey there – sounds like your ultrasound went really well – I know what you mean about “graduating” to the OB. It just doesn’t feel as “cozy” as the care you get from the RE’s office. Funny, I never thought I would say something like that. Anyway, I hope that you’re feeling more and more hopeful – I am. I’m focused on the fact that things are moving along the way they’re supposed to, and that’s the important thing! One day at a time. Every day feels like the baby is one day stronger.

Thinking of you.

Comment by Leslie Laine

Thinking of you and baby bean! I know what you mean about wanting an u/s every appt. My OB did use the doppler every appt., so I always got to hear the HB…awww, the most beautiful sound you’ll ever hear! Always made me feel better. Hope your OB appt goes well. 🙂

Comment by T.




Leave a Reply

