Two Years and Counting


7 weeks
March 28, 2009, 10:01 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have to say, I don’t know how people ever just relax and enjoy their pregnancy. That hasn’t happened to me yet. It’s not so much that I’m constantly worried or anxious…there’s just a sense that this could all go away so quickly, and I think that’s keeping me from being truly excited and really enjoying the fact that I’m pregnant for the very first time. Any time the nurse says any tiny thing that’s not overly positive or gushy, I wonder why she’s being hesitant, even if she’s not meaning to be that way. My first two ultrasounds were perfect. Then at the one this week (at 6 weeks 6 days), she said the baby was measuring 6 weeks 4 days, which is great, and that the gestational sac (I think that’s what it’s called) is measuring 1 week behind at 5 weeks 4 days. She said they consider anything within 1 week to be normal, so mine is normal (although it looks to me like it’s barely normal). And she said they like to see the baby looking proportional to the sac, not the baby taking up most of the room in the sac, which mine wasn’t. So she said it’s nothing to worry about. But of course, it enters my mind from time to time and I think about it. I’m not freaking out about it, because I know there’s nothing I can do, but it still doesn’t totally go away. Maybe part of it is that I’m just so used to things not working out, and I’m half expecting this pregnancy to not work out…or maybe concerns like this are common to all pregnant women.

Then the other thing is that the nurse left me a message late Thursday saying they saw a small amount of protein in my urine, which makes them wonder about a UTI. I’ve had no symptoms at all, and in the message she said if there are no symptoms, they may not need to treat it (that it can be something other than a UTI) and for me to call her on Friday. I called and she never called back! I was pretty disappointed. They always call back, and I figured especially for something like this where we needed to determine if I need to be treated for something, they’d call me back. I’m telling myself she must have not thought it was worrisome enough to do something before the weekend. I know untreated UTIs can cause miscarriages, so I’m just hanging on til Monday.

That’s about it. I’m just praying for some peace, that I can enjoy this ride, whatever happens. It’s just hard to do that when it feels like everything is so shaky and fragile.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

At 18 wk I still can’t say I’m just “relaxing” either… ;o)

Did I tell you how excited I am for you? I am!! Congratulations sweetie.

Comment by Nity Smith

Right there with ya hun. Right. There.

I soooo wish I could just enjoy this…but I feel like all I do is wait for something “bad” to happen. Yeeesh.

FYI – one of my twins (Lennon) had a small gestaional sac for the whole first half of my pregnancy. They actually told me all sort of horrible things about the situation at first (her sac was REALLLLLLY small) – and she is here today PERFECTLY fine. So, try not to worry sweetie.

Comment by mrslala

Hi Lauren – I’m right there with you. I thank God every single day for giving me one more day of being pregnant. That’s exactly how I’m trying to take this – one day at a time. I’m anxiously awaiting our first ultrasound – hope it goes as well as yours did. Thinking of you and praying.

Comment by leslie laine

I think I was very scared until my first trimester was over and still in a state of disbelief until the 20 week ultrasound. Just keep thinking positively.

Comment by Jennifer

Visiting from another blog and wanted to say CONGRATULATIONS! I’m also pregnant, due in October, so happy to find another preggy to follow.

Anyway, it’s definitely difficult to not stress or worry. Welcome to motherhood; it begins at conception! It won’t seem real until you are able to feel baby, at least that’s how it is for me!

Comment by Joy




Leave a Reply

