Two Years and Counting


Fertilization Report
February 21, 2009, 5:30 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

We got word this morning that of the 15 eggs they retrieved, 13 were mature, and 12 fertilized! I didn’t expect that at all. Now, of course, like I told M, that doesn’t mean all that much, because the number will go down, and could go way down. I have a friend who did IVF and started out with something crazy like 19 eggs, and after waiting the 5 days, ended up with only 1 embryo, period. Granted, they got Pregnant on that one embryo, but still. Having twelve embryos right now is a great number to start with, but I know it’ll go down. They’ll call tomorrow morning and let me know how many divided. (Like I told my mom, it’s good that the number will go down some–I sure don’t want to end up with 12 embryos!)

I’ve had some weird stomach and back pains today. I’m sure it’s all normal. I don’t typically deal with feeling bloated, so I’m not sure if this is what it feels like, but my stomach just has felt tight and uncomfortable all day. And I do feel a bit of pain in the general area of my ovaries, so I know those are still somewhat swollen. My back pain I think is from the phenergan shot they gae me in my hip yesterday. I’m thinking she may have hit a nerve. This morning, M and I met a friend for breakfast, then sat out side in the sun for a while. Then I went to a library book sale for an hour and a half or so. I promptly hit the couch when I got home and slept for probably 2 hours. Maybe that’s leftover from the medicines they gave me yesterday?

Anyway, to clarify about being awake during the retrieval yesterday–I was awake, but definitely out of it. I remember being in there and what went on in general, but I didn’t feel a thing. I do remember telling my doctor about another doctor that my family knows who knows her. I’d been meaning to tell her about him for months, but kept forgetting. Why I chose to tell her about when I was probably babbling  and slurring, I have no idea. I think I was trying to sound more lucid than I really was!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Excellent, let’s see how those 12 do over the next couple of days! Praying that your baby is in one of those.

Comment by Soapchick

That’s great news!!! Come on embies!!!

Comment by Nity

Congratulations! Those are great fertilization rates. Grow embryos, grow!

Comment by Leslee




Leave a Reply

