Two Years and Counting


Another day, another ultrasound
February 16, 2009, 10:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I went in this morning for my stim day 9 ultrasound and bloodwork. The nurse said my lining looked “beautiful” (the acupuncture doctor will be so pleased!) and the follicles have grown, but “still have some growing to do.” I’m not sure what that really means, except that the nurse said I didn’t need to be concerned, that they are growing and that’s good news. Maybe my follicles are just slow responders. She said my largest on the left side is 1.6 and the largest on the right is 1.5. Today the count was 8 follicles on each side, although those numbers have fluctuated from 6-8 depending on the nurse doing the u/s. This one thinks I’ll be starting cetrotide tonight, but the IVF coordinator will call to confirm, and that the retrieval will probably be Friday. They originally gave me a window of three days for when the retrieval could be, and Friday is the last day in that window. So, it makes me feel good that at least we’re in the window. I did have to go back by the pharmacy to pick up more supplies–needles and syringes–because I was about to run out.

Stephanie, you mentioned in your comment that since they didn’t put me on Lupron,  maybe they already knew what meds I’d need due to my IUIs…but I didn’t do any meds when I did IUIs. They were all natural cycles. Maybe there was something else that made them think I didn’t need to be on Lupron. Who knows?

I’m still feeling pretty good. I’m a tad more tender in the lower areas of my belly, but it’s not painful. I guess I need to be somewhat careful since they ovaries are a bit larger, but I’m planning on going for my regular walk later today and am not really concerned about any twisting of ovaries or anything. I don’t think mine are big enough for that to be a problem.

I go back in tomorrow morning early for another check…while it’s sort of annoying to have to go so often, I feel like I’m being well taken care of. I like that they’re checking everything so often to make sure we’re on the right track. That keeps me from complaining about the $3 every time I leave the hospital parking garage and the constant treks through the garage, and up and down elevators with all the pregnant women going for their ultrasounds…quite different from the ultrasounds I’m having to do!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds like things are going perfectly! We’re praying for you with every step. And really, the lupron is awful. Be thankful. Can’t wait to hear the update tomorrow!

Comment by Robin

Everything seems right on track to me! The average stim time is 11-12 days, so 1.5-1.6 cm follicles on day 9 is on target (you usually trigger in the 1.8-2.0 range). Glad you feel well taken care of; can’t wait to hear when your retrieval is scheduled!

Comment by andreajennine

You are right – I don’t know – maybe she learned her lesson with me!! Antagonist worked great for me!!! Tell Dr. Ivey I said hello!

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

