Two Years and Counting


Day 6 of stim meds
February 13, 2009, 4:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I went in to the clinic yesterday for an u/s and b/w to make sure things were looking ok. I had 12 follicles in all, and all were less than 1 cm, which basically means they weren’t measureable. My estrogen level was 175 and progesterone was .3. Really, I don’t know what that means, except that the nurses said it was all fine. I’m going back in tomorrow (Saturday) for another check, and to see if it’s ok to add another drug to the mix…cetrotide. Again, I don’t know what this drug does that’s different from the follistim and menopur, but I suppose it does something! M and I start taking an antibiotic on Sunday. So far, I still feel totally normal. I asked the nurse if that in itself was normal and she said yes. She said if I had come in on day 5 of the injections and said I felt really bad or bloated or whatever, that would have been a problem. She said most people come in on day 9 or 10 and say “Ok, I know something’s happening because I feel pretty bloated.” I’ll just enjoy continuing to feel normal for now!

Also, I noticed several days ago that Lupron wasn’t in my bag of meds, and I called the IVF coordinator to check on that. I’ve heard most other people who’ve done IVF talk about Lupron, so I just assumed I’d be taking it. She said I’m on a regimen that doesn’t involve Lupron. I know the process is different for everyone, so I suppose for whatever reason, that’s just something I don’t need. I’ve heard it gives people bad headaches, so I’m thankful I’m not taking it.

I went to acupuncture right after that appt yesterday morning. I’d forgotten to get the measurement of my lining, and Dr Ivey wasn’t too happy with me. She always likes numbers so she’ll know how well what she’s doing is working. I’m under strict orders to get the measurement when I go tomorrow.

That’s about it for now. M and I are going to dinner tomorow night for V Day. We always go to the same restaurant, and tomorrow will be our 5th Valentine’s Day at this restaurant. For those of you in Birmingham, or if you ever visit Birmingham, it’s called Standard Bistro and it’s out in Mt Laurel. It is fantastic. I’ve never eaten anything there that wasn’t absolutely wonderful. It’s more pricey than we usually spend on dinner, but we only go once a year, and it’s a treat. Hope you all have a nice weekend!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are doing the same protocol I did the second time – its called the antagonist protocol. It doesn’t supress your ovaries like the standard lupron protocol does. They must have known how you respond to the meds already from the IUI cycles so they knew you didn’t need Lupron. That is what I missed out on the first time – I had never done an injectibles cycle before so they had no idea. You are doing great!! Can’t wait to hear the next update – things start moving fast when you add in the cetrotide!!

Comment by Stephanie

All your numbers sound good to me; glad things are going well!

Comment by andrea_jennine




Leave a Reply

