Two Years and Counting


Pre-cycle visit
January 28, 2009, 9:41 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve hardly had time to sit down and breathe this week. There’s a for sale sign in our yard and it makes me sad every time I look at it! I’m sad about the possibility of us leaving this little house that I love, but excited about the prospect of the new house. I’ve been pulling pages from magazines for years and years–I have three folders full! Now, I’ll finally be able to pick out pages with images that could work for the new house and start making that house our own. That is IF this house sells. There’s a chance it may all fall through–our buying the new house is contingent on us selling our house, and apparently there’s someone else who wants the house, and their house is in the process of being sold. So we’ll just see what happens. I’m really ok either way.

We had our pre-cycle visit on Monday. I really like the IVF coordinator, Janet. She’s very down-to-earth and realistic. She went over our calendar and how to give the injections. I’m not concerned at all about the sub-Q injections, and I’ve had an HCG booster, so I’m not worried about that one. But the almost 4 weeks (if I end up pregnant) of intramuscular progesterone-in-oil shots…good grief. My rear end is going to be incredibly sore and probably purple. I bruise so easily. I’m not looking forward to that part.

I start the injections a week from Sunday, Feb 8th, and I’ll go in for my first check the next THursday. The retrieval will be the next week, and the transfer the next. Of course, just like the house, it could all fall through if my body doesn’t respond the way it should. There’s so much that’s out of my hands right now! I guess God is teaching me more and more that it’s ok if I’m not the one in control of everything. Not that I ever am, but I like to feel that way. I don’t think I’ve ever felt more NOT in control of things going on! But I’m just trusting. Hanging on and trusting.

Oh, also, I have to go see a hematologist. I can’t remember if I’ve written about this hear, but a blood test revealed a slightly elevated level of anti-cardio lipins in my blood–something that can indicate a higher risk for blood clots–either for me or for a baby in the first part of pregnancy, especially. So, if I get pregnant, I’ll be taking a sub-Q shot of heparin twice a day. I guess I better get used to the injections. They want me to see a hematologist regardless of if I get pregnant, becuase it’s something I’ll need to keep an eye on my whole life. And it’s a good thing that they found it. Not that it’s a super elevated level, but it is higher than normal, and my grandmother had a stroke due to a blood clot, so I suppose it runs in my family a bit.

Anyway, that’s the scoop. It’s raining here and I want nothing more than to be able to snuggle down on the couch with a book and tea, but I’m a little on edge because the real estate agent could call at any time and tel me to get out of the house! If that happens, I’ll throw the dog in the back of the car (to make sure he doesn’t scare a potential buyer) and drive around a bit or something.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

