Two Years and Counting


In Which I am Laid Off
November 10, 2008, 4:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I don’t have much to update here on the doctor front. I’m in the middle of the 2ww, and expect to feel cramps any day now…although the progesterone might trump them.

However, I have much to update in other areas. I found out this morning that my department at work has been “eliminated.” My company is part of another, much larger, company, and the big parent company is cutting way back to save money. My department happened to be one that got the ax. It wasn’t a huge shock, as we started hearing a couple of weeks ago that there were going to be significant layoffs. I had pretty well prepared myself for being laid off, so while today wasn’t exactly a cheery day, it wasn’t totally devastating.

What does this mean for me? It means I milk my insurance as much as I can in the next three and a half months. If I’m not pregnant this month, M and I are going to have another meeting with Dr. H and tell her we need to *cautiously* fast track things. I’m still operating under the assurance that if God intends for us to get pregnant, it will happen when he says so, regardless of what we do at the doctor’s office. That’s fine. But considering I now have a very limited amount of time left with good insurance coverage, we need to make the most of this time. So, we’ll talk to her more about her suggestion of FSH+IUI, and get down to brass tacks as far as what she thinks we should do to maximize my time. I know this is all in God’s hands, and he knows I know that, and he also knows that M and I need to be as fiscally responsible as possible, and right now that means do what we can while it’s covered.

Just like God is in control of my fertility, he’s also in control of this new situation. This may be the way that he introduces some other interesting thing into my life. Maybe this door had to close so that something else can pop up. I read in a devotional a few weeks ago that sometimes God’s most severe refusals have to happen to make way for his biggest blessings. I’m praying that’s the case with this situation.

Hope you’re all doing well!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

My husband was laid off about two weeks ago and God has already provided another job. We are starting fertility treatments again this month and his new job doesn’t start for two more weeks. I can relate to your fears. Know that God is making a way for you even now and that He will provide whatever you need. I hope this next door brings many blessings.

Comment by Leslie

Oh, I’m sorry to hear about your job! This morning I was reading in Psalm 121: “I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” There can be no better help! May you see him moving heaven and earth to provide help in the areas of work, insurance, and infertility.

Comment by andrea_jennine

I’m sorry to hear that but its so great to hear the confidence in your post that you know God will provide. He has blessings waiting for you that you can’t even conceive how great they are. I’ll be praying.

Comment by Stephanie

So sorry to hear about your job! How disappointing…even though you sensed it coming. It’s still never easy. I feel like I could be writing this same post any day now. My company is not doing well either.

But you are right…God is totally in control and He will help us get by no matter what the circumstance!

I will be praying that you don’t even need those extra 3 1/2 months…well, except to cover OB visits!!!

Comment by kcmarie122




Leave a Reply

