Two Years and Counting


Question about FSH/Clomid
October 28, 2008, 7:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have a question for anyone who has done injectable drugs or Clomid. My doctor says I’m not a candidate for Clomid because I ovulate regularly each month on my own. Clomid makes you produce more eggs (right?) and I produce an egg, so don’t need it. I get that. Like I said in an earlier post, my doctor has now suggested injectable FSH (after we see what happens in the next couple of cycles.) Am I correct in thinking that the injectable FSH causes you to produce more eggs? If so, how is that different from Clomid, and why would she consider me a candidate for the FSH, but not the Clomid? I should have asked her this in my post-op meeting when she brought it up, but I wasn’t expecting her to bring up the FSH, and it kind of threw me off. 

M and I are thinking about what steps we may want to take come January, and I’d like to have some correct thoughts in my head about this FSH step before I talk to the doctor again. She seems to think we should try that before we try in vitro, seeing as how ivf is more expensive, invasive, and emotionally trying. Makes sense, but from what I’ve heard, it increases your chance of having multiples…and I still don’t get why I’d need it if I don’t need Clomid.

Any insight into this would be appreciated!

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t completely understand it either, but I do know that recent studies indicate that Clomid is not really beneficial for women who ovulate on their own. Not sure how that applies to FSH. I could see a couple of advantages to doing FSH over Clomid, though. FSH doesn’t have the anti-estrogen effects that Clomid does, so you wouldn’t be fighting against side effects that aren’t conducive to conception (thin lining, little to no cervical fluid, etc.). Also, trying lower doses of FSH for IUI can give your doctor some idea of what dosages of FSH to use for your IVF (if you end up needing it); that reduces some of the “experimental” nature of a first IVF cycle, where the doctors are often just trying to figure out what level of meds you respond to best. All that said, you’re right, FSH/IUI does increase your chances of multiples, from 5% on a Clomid cycle to 20% on an FSH cycle.

Comment by andrea_jennine

I know you don’t know me. I just happened across your blog in a search for other people experiencing infertility. When I saw this question, I thought I might offer my limited bit of experience with it. I don’t know anything about FSH injections and have yet to take clomid. However, I just had my first appointment with my OB-GYN yesterday to discuss the next steps in my fertility process, and even though I have charts that document ovulation every single month, she suggested the possibility of putting me on Clomid. I asked why since I know that I do ovulate, and she said it would just give me a stronger ovulation. She didn’t say anything about multiple eggs, but I guess it could be a possibility. As I said, my knowledge is extremely limited. But I wanted to offer this point of view because it was my doctor’s suggestion even though I do ovulate on my own.

Comment by Mandy

I think Andrea is right – Clomid helps you ovulate where FSH just helps grow eggs. Clomid has that effect too but with the added boost to help you ovulate. She told me the same thing when we started out with our unmedicated IUIs – I was asking for medicine and she said that if I ovulated on my own I didn’t need that. I also agree with Andrea in that if you do IVF the injectibles will give her a good idea of how you respond to the drugs b/c they are the same drugs just different doses. Really though – I would just call the nurse message line and ask the question – that will give you HER answer!

Comment by Stephanie

Just two weeks on the nuvaring. I don’t know what I do then. I have my precycle appointment with Janet on Wednesday so I should have my calendar by then. I think I might go straight into the microdose lupron but I don’t know how long. I don’t like not knowing.

Comment by Stephanie

That’s weird. I was on clomid for my IUI cycles even though I ovulate regularly. I almost feel safer doing IVF than IUIs with injectables just because you can control more with IVF than with injectables even though it is more invasive. I don’t have any familiarity with FSH though. Good luck!! Maybe you can put it on L&F and see if people have more feedback.

Comment by Nity

I came over from L&F and just wanted to comment that my RE has said things similar to what Andrea said. FSH/IUI is often a preferred treatment for ART because it lacks the anti-estrogenic effects, it comes with fewer side effects and because as a pre-cursor to IVF it can help your doctor determine appropriate dosages. That said I’ve seen many people on the internet have success with a Clomid/IUI combination. Also, you don’t mention this and I didn’t go back and read your blog more thoroughly but if you are a candidate for timed intercourse either Clomid or FSH injectables can be used with TI with success.

Comment by Sonya

I have been trying to ttc for 2.5 and we are currently on a break after miscarriage #4. In January I will be going on FSH because I have a thin endometruim (uterine lining) which has caused my miscarriages. I have been on clomid and femara and they did not promote a healthy lining- so thats the reason for the FSH. Maybe your doc has a reason for it that he didn’t explain to you. Clomid isn’t for everyone- i actually don’t know anyone who has gotten pregnant on clomid. But I know alot of people who have done the FSH route who have gotten pregnant with twins or more.
http://gerwerbabies.blogspot.com/

Comment by Lena

I ovulated on my own but my doc still did 4 tries of Clomid before he wanted to move on to injectables.

Officially, we were unexplained.

Comment by mrs spock

I ovulated on my own and was put on Clomid. I also got pregnant on it, even though I later m/c’d. I don’t get docs thinking.

Comment by bleu

My understanding is that Clomid can help some ovulate, yes. But allegedly, it can also help you make a ‘better’ egg… or, if you respond more sensitively, more than one eggs. Injectables are more like your natural hormones, and can also make more eggs.. therefore, more targets. We did one Clomid/IUI cycle with a BFN and I moved on to injectables/IUI because we had time restraints. The Clomid also made me feel absolutely insane, and I was only on 50 mg. I have heard both sides.. some say that there’s no reason to take Clomid if you already ovulate, and some say that Clomid can help with egg quality. Clomid is also usually the first go-to fertility drug because it’s dirt cheap, which injectables are not.

Comment by Kim

Hi girls i m Maria, well i took clomid day 2-6, took ovulation tests cd8, 10, and 12 but never ovulated. i think it might have been because i mixed up,

my medication, i excidently took 50mg on cd2, 50mgcd3, 100mgcd4,150mgcd5, 150mgcd6 then 50mg cd7, my doctor never explained to me exactly what clomid was for the day he gave it to me, he just told me to take it from day 2 of my cycle, i have been having abdominal pains just undermy belly, just above my V’
and pains on my lower back, then just 3days ago ive been having sore a tender nipples, (very painful). While on cheap generic clomid i had, blury vision (couldnt drive at all), i had horriable headachs and hotflashes. i am now in cd21, i really hope this works for is, i have been ttc with my fiance for a year now and ttc for 3years before meeting my fiance.

Comment by Maria

How about $$$ anybody ever think that Doctor’s will try what you allow if you don’t know any better. Do your research and be prepared to ask the Doctor to explain him/herself! Remember Doctors are people trying to make a living just like the rest of us and they are fallible…

Comment by Israsom

Lower left abdominal pain is the most common area for abdominal pain. You will know how debilitating lower left abdominal pain can be – whether it is an acute episode or chronic condition. The effects of abdominal pain can be devastating not just for the person living with the problem, but also for their family, friends and carers. The simplest chores and activities from shopping to walking may become impossible. Constant physical pain can impact on an individual’s emotional well-being. People living with a chronic condition may become depressed, and in some cases driven to suicide to escape the pain!are totally unsuitable. They are too bulky, move out of position, compact and cause oreness.”

Our new webpage
<http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/anti-inflammation-diet/

Comment by Rowena Baca




Leave a Reply

