Two Years and Counting


Lap Update
September 23, 2008, 1:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I seem to be repeating myself here when I say “work is so busy” but I’ll use that excuse yet again! Sorry I haven’t updated about the lap. It was on Friday. Things went as well as surgery can, I suppose, except for the over 3 hour wait! We arrived at 6:15 expecting the surgery to be around 8ish, but it didn’t start til about 10. That was kind of a bummer, but not the worst thing in the world. At least I had a tv in the room I was in. (However, I did spend that time in a lovely 12-sizes-too-big hospital gown “open in the back please!”) 

Anyway, I’ll skip to the recovery, since that’s what came next for me after they wheeled me down the hall and pumped me full of anesthesia. Anesthesia doesn’t agree with me very well, which is pretty much what I expected. As soon as I woke up, I was pretty nauseated. The nurses kept coming over to me saying things like, “Oh honey, you look like you don’t feel very well.” I was like—gee thanks, give me something for the nausea! Except I wasn’t much up for talking. Everything I did, including talking and moving my head the slightest bit, made me feel like I was going to throw up. After 15 minutes or so, they wheeled me back down to the private recovery room and M came in and thankfully handed me my glasses so I could see everyone. (No contacts allowed in surgery, obviously.) I stayed in there for maybe 30 minutes before deciding I wanted to go home, even though I still felt really sick. Somehow, they got me into a wheelchair and into the car, and the car ride home was pretty rough. Combine nausea from anesthesia + typical motion sickness, and you get one unhappy girl. But as soon as I got home and in my own bed, at least I was in better spirits. M took wonderful care of me the whole time. He was very doting!

I spent most of Friday in my bed, except for a couple of unfortunate trips to the bathroom, in which I got sick from the actual act of moving. But by that evening, I felt much better, as far as the nausea goes. I still had some pain medicine in me, so my stomach wasn’t hurting much. The incision sites were both covered up by bandaids, so I just left them as is.
 
I spent Saturday on the couch, which was actually kind of nice. I was really thankful for M being there, because I needed help moving around, including sitting up—you don’t realize how much you use your stomach muscles until you can’t use them! The nausea was gone by then and my appetite was back, which was great. Sunday was better than Saturday, even though it still hurt to walk too much, and I was still pretty zonked. I fell asleep Sunday afternoon at my in-laws, then fell asleep on the couch at about 8:30!

Yesterday was a rough day at work. It was incredibly busy, and I already wasn’t feeling great. The day before the surgery I started to feel like I was getting a tickle in my throat and a tightness in my chest, so I figured I was getting a little bit of a cold. It didn’t really affect me until Sunday night, when I was up coughing a lot of the night, which hurt my stomach really bad. I think I was more sore yesterday from the coughing, and plus the act of getting up and dressed and to work just exhausted me. I went home after work and stayed on the couch pretty much the whole evening. I had a small pity party for myself last night too. I think I must have been hormonal yesterday in addition to feeling bad, because it was just one of those days where everything felt wrong and bad. I wasn’t feeling much hope about actually getting pregnant after the surgery, but I know that’s a silly thing to worry about 4 days post surgery.

Today has been better. I’m still tiring easily—sort of like after you’ve been sick and small things tire you easily. And I’m feeling a touch dizzy, which I suppose may be a remainder from the anesthesia. But other than that, the only real affect from the surgery that I can tell is a very sore belly button. It’s so tender it even hurts a bit when my shirt touches it. And I’m still planning on taking it easy today after work. I hate feeling puny, but I have to keep reminding myself that I just had surgery four days ago, and I need to take it easy.

So, all in all, not too bad. The surgery was not near as big a deal as the anesthesia for me. I can handle the pain from the surgery—it’s really not too bad.

And after me explaining all that, probably all you wanted to know about were the results! Dr H told M they found “mild to moderate” endo, some slight scar tissue from the endo, and 2 cysts. They removed it all. She told him that basically we won’t know if this was our problem until we try and see what happens. I go back for my post op appt next week. Not sure if she’ll have any additional info for me then, but I’ll be interested in hearing her take on the surgery, since I didn’t see her after I woke up.

I have a gazillion posts to catch up on, so hopefully I’ll be able to catch up on your blogs soon! 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Glad to hear the surgery went reasonable well. That’s so true about how we don’t realize how much we use our stomach muscles until it’s suddenly forbidden! Did you have any pain in your shoulders/neck from the gas they use to inflate the abdomen? That (and a severe case of the shakes after anesthesia) was the worst part for me, in many ways.

Comment by andrea_jennine

I’m sorry you were so sick afterward, but it does sound like the surgery went reasonably well. That’s great news. I hope you feel better soon!! Keep taking it easy. You need to make sure you fully recover. :o)
**HUGS**

Comment by Nity

I’ve never had a lap, but I’m glad that yours is over and at least was diagnostic. It sounds so uncomfortable! Take it easy.

Comment by Ellen K.




Leave a Reply

