Two Years and Counting


Update
September 18, 2008, 8:22 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Seriously, this new job is kicking my rear end! I’ve hardly had time to do anything at work that I used to have time to take care of–paying an occasional bill online, making updates here, taking a little time to check headlines during the day…I guess I’m where people usually are who have busy 9-5 jobs! 

Anyway, my surgery is tomorrow. It’s not that it’s sneaked (snuck?) up on me–I’ve been aware that it’s coming, but I’ve had so much going on that I haven’t had a chance to really put much thought into it. With all the stuff with my grandfather, this job, and some other family stuff going on, the surgery has been the last thing on my midnd. I guess that’s a good thing considering I’m the kind of person who tends to worry a lot, and this is the kind of thing I probably would have worried about had I had time to do so. 

As of now, I’m supposed to be at the hospital at 6:15 tomorrow. The nurse said not to get too attached to that time though, and she’d call me today with a definite time. I’m assuming the surgery would be at 8, since they say you need to be there 2 hours before, and I’m hoping to be out by noon. That may be too optimistic though–I don’t know how long they keep you in recovery after these things. Anyone have any tips that I need to know going in?

I guess that’s about it. Just wanted to give a quick update. Hope everyone has a good weekend! I anticipate being on the couch for most of it, with a stack of Gar.den and Gun magazines next to me! (For the record, the magazine is much, much better than the name. It’s a fantastic new magazine about the South–very literary and intelligent, gorgeous photos, great topics, impressive list of contributing writers, including Wins.ton Gr.oom, Jimm.y Buffe.t, and Ri.ck Bra.gg. The “Gun” part comes in because it covers topics that Southerners tend to be interested in, like hunting, fishing, etc. I feel like I need to explain this magazine a bit, so no one things I hang out toting guns! If you live in the South (or just like the South) and enjoy really great writing, check it out!)

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t even know how to use Google reader – I just have my favorite blogs as Favorites and check them once a day – or more! I’ll be praying for you tomorrow – Dr. H will take care of you. That is about the only thing I’m certain of these days. She will call you “baby girl” and hug you and love you and make you feel ok. When I had my retrieval there was a girl in recovery who had just gotten out of the laproscopy and she seemed groggy but otherwise fine. Good luck and know there are people out there praying for you and hoping that she finds what God wants her to find! Be it something or nothing! I’m excited for you to be moving forward!!

Comment by Stephanie

oh and I totally am going to have to check out the magazine!

Comment by Stephanie

I pray your surgery goes well tomorrow!

Comment by andrea_jennine

Thinking about you this morning! 🙂

Comment by Stephanie

Praying for your surgery this morning!!

Comment by Nity

Thinking/praying for you today. lots of love.
just as an aside: one of my best friends had a lap/hysterscopy AND hsg last week and she surprisingly was back at work within the week – the best part was that the Dr was able to laser and remove some scar tissue that was bogging down her ovary. God is so good! Anyways, just wanted to encourage you and we look forward to hearing some positive reports.

Comment by Just Me




Leave a Reply

