Two Years and Counting


When it rains…
September 9, 2008, 8:04 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Just a little update on where I’ve been and what’s going on. Things have gotten incredibly busy and emotional, to tell you the truth. In the midst of scheduling the laparoscopy, starting a new job at work, and working on 2 freelance writing jobs that I really want to do well on, my grandfather is dying. He probably won’t make it through the week…but then again, we all thought he wouldn’t make it through last weekend. He’s defying the odds and baffling his home hospice nurses. He’s “asleep” and unresponsive, but his heart just won’t stop beating! Which is great on one hand, but on the other hand, it’s agonizing for his wife (my grandmother), his daughters (my mom and aunt) and the rest of the family to watch him fading away. He was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s a few years ago, and this year has been a terribly rapid decline, especially in the last few months…then the last two weeks we’ve all just been waiting on the phone call. I went home to be with my family over the weekend because everyone thought his passing was imminent, but he stayed with us. I had to come back here on Monday because I just have so much going on with work and life that I couldn’t just wait around to see what would happen. So M and I, and my brother, will travel back down whenever we get the phone call. We take much comfort in the fact that Papa is about to meet Jesus. Like M said, Papa has lived his whole life in expectation of this greatest reward, and he’s about to get it.

In the meantime, one of the things I needed to come back up here for was my pre-op appt yesterday at the hospital. They took some blood and a nurse talked to me to tell me what to expect on the day of the surgery. I’m a little nervous about the anesthesia, just because I don’t know how I’ll react to it, but I’m not concerned about the surgery itself. I’m just very anxious to know what they find. 

My work has gotten exponentially busier over the last two weeks. Basically, a girl in another department is leaving the company and I’m taking over her job…as well as retaining the normal responsibilites of my own job. Should be an interesting few months until I really get my feet wet in the new job and figure out how to balance both. 

So if I’m not commenting much on your blogs, all this is why! But I should be back soon…

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m sorry about your grandpa. I pray that you experience much sustaining grace during a busy and challenging season.

Comment by andrea_jennine

I’m sorry about your grandfather – its tough emotionally and then throw the infertility in on it and it magnifies your emotions tenfold. I’ll be thinking about you! I hope the anesthesia will be fine – do they do the surgery in the office or at the hospital? Their surgery room is wild – its like a foreign land that commoners aren’t supposed to see!! Dr. H will take care of you!

Comment by Stephanie

I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather, although very encouraged to hear he knows our Savior and is about to go get his reward.

I’ll be thinking about you as you prep for your operation. I’m hoping and praying for everything to go smoothly.

Comment by Nity

I’m sorry to read about your grandfather. I hope his remaining time here is peaceful. I hope your stressful time eases up soon. Good luck with the pre-op appointment.

Comment by sarah23

I’m praying for you and all your family. So sorry to hear about your Papa. Hopefully you can find some comfort in that he’s going to be in the most wonderful place soon with no pain. I love you!

Comment by T.

I’m thinking about you today Lauren. Hope you are doing good.

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

