Two Years and Counting


God and Acupuncture
April 18, 2008, 12:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Eating 3-4 slices of pineapple twice a day has proved impossible for me. That’s a lot of pineapple! I ran by the store and picked up 6 slices of fresh pineapple as a trial run, to see how I like it. I can get it down, but it’s not pleasant. I have a thing about foods with strange textures, and for some reason, pineapple bothers me. That and it’s just too sweet for me. I’m all for sweet stuff, but pineapple is a bit much. So far, I’ve eaten one slice, which is probably equal to one cup, each night. And I tried to eat the core, which is where most of the bromelain is supposed to be concentrated, but it tastes like what I’d imagine a tuft of really tough grass would taste like!

I’ve also had the no dairy thing in the back of my mind and have tried to cut down on that. I’ve accepted that I won’t be able to cut it out completely, and honestly, I don’t think it’s necessary. There are a lot of good and healthy food plans out there, and I don’t know many that tell you to skip dairy altogether. I can cut back on it, skip the ice cream, not eat as much cheese, and start drinking something else for dinner sometimes, but I’ll keep it around. I enjoy it too much.

As for the exercise, I’m still a little stumped. I’ve just walked this week with M and our dog. I think I’m going to call the clinic and ask a nurse there what she thinks. I don’t want to secondguess Dr. I (the acupuncturist), but I feel like I may need to take some of what she says with a grain of salt. Maybe not such much for exercise (she does have a point when she said when you do weights, you’re compressing everything in your abdominal area, and you don’t want to compress that area when a follicle is trying to grow) but maybe some of the more general health things. She’s more of a holistic, alternative-health type doctor, and while she truly has cleared the way for many women to get pregnant who otherwise had had no luck (and what I’m hoping she’ll do for us), I don’t know if I need to follow ALL of her health advice. For example, will skipping dairy help me get pregnant, or does that have to do with her idea of what everyone needs for good overall health? Am I supposed to eat warm foods in order to more easily get pregnant, or is that just an overall health thing, and something that will keep me from being so cold?

Those overall health things sound good (afterall, I’d like to not get cold so easily!) but right now my focus is on getting pregnant, and also staying as healthy as possible…within a certain comfort zone.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I will note this one thing about acupuncture. Other than the obvious larger than usual follicle and thicker lining, I’ve noticed a bit of a change in my mood…I think. It’s hard to tell, really. I’ve just noticed that I’ve felt generally lighter and less encumbered these last few weeks. M has even commented on it. Now, I’ve been praying a lot about my acceptance of things that are out of my control, and I definitely don’t want to overlook God answering my prayers. Maybe it’s a combinaton of both God and acupuncture. That would be an interesting book title!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Try making a smoothie with the pineapple. Put in your blender – some plain lowfat yogurt, pineapple, fresh strawberries or blueberries or a banana. Blend – and drink with a straw! Delicious!

Comment by soapchick

I can see ther title of the book – Needles in the sky – or something 🙂 I’m a real pineapple fan so I can’t relate. Have you tried getting them from an organic store? They are usually tastier and not so sickly sweet

Comment by gracechild

Ever since your original pineapple post, I have been eating it. However, I actually have a strange affection for canned pineapple . I get the kind that is “chunks” in “juice” (not syrup). I don’t know if the relevant vitamins / compounds will still be present in the canned kind, but it tastes yummy to me.

Have a great weekend at the beach! (Which beach, by the way?)

Comment by sarah23




Leave a Reply

