Two Years and Counting


Question…
February 8, 2008, 8:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’d love to get your opinion on something. So, I’m still waiting for the surge line on my OPK. I thought I might get it last night, but there was nothing, so I’m expecting it tonight. We last had sex Wed. night. In hindsight, it would have been good to go ahead and do it last night as well, but we had a lot of stuff going on last night, and it just didn’t happen. We planned on abstaining for a few days before the IUI–ideally around 72 hours/3 days. Now, however, since I didn’t get the line last night, the IUI will be pushed back farther than what I originally thought. I’m thinking I’ll probably go in tomorrow morning and they’ll give me the trigger tomorrow or Sunday morning, with the IUI being 36 hours after that. Not knowing when it’ll be, I have no idea what to do as far as sex so that M’s at the right number of hours before he has to give his sample. If we don’t do it again until the IUI, we could be at around 5 days–still within the 7 day limit they give, but still longer than we wanted it to be. If we do it tonight, then if the iui ends up being Monday, that’ll put us closer to 48 hours.

Actually I just looked back at the notes I took when we last met with Dr. H. M’s numbers for the SPA test were really big, and we’d abstained for 5 days for that test. So maybe that’s a good indication that 5 days is ok–good even, as far as his numbers go.

Oh how I wish making a baby weren’t so technical! It shouldn’t require thought! But such is life…

Thanks for reading!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

My clinic always recommended 2-5 days. We often had sex the night of the trigger shot, and that seemed to work okay for us in terms of counts and such. Any longer than 5 days, and I think you start to get “old,” weak sperm – but really, it doesn’t matter a whole lot since they prepare the sperm anyway for IUI. I wouldn’t worry about it too much; easier said than done, I know!

Comment by andrea_jennine




Leave a Reply

